CALVIA, SPAIN - JUNE 18: ATP Mallorca Championships 2022 at Country Club de Santa Ponça on June 18, 2022 in Calvia, Spain. (Photo by Manuel Queimadelos/Quality Sport Images)

Mallorca Championships stars already know their route Mallorca, June 18th 2022.

Mallorca, June 18, 2022. This Saturday the main draw of the Mallorca Championships has been announced. In a ceremony held at the house club of Mallorca Country Club, the Serbian Miomir Kecmanovic has acted as an innocent hand to determine the fate of the 28 players that take part in the second edition of the only tournament on grass in southern Europe.

With the preliminary round matches still in progress, earliest main draw matches will be played this Sunday, again with a great entry list for its second edition. Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Denis Shapovalov and Pablo Carreño are exempt from the first round due to their status as top four seeds and await their opponents in the round of 16.

The world No.1 and reigning champion of the ATP250 tournament held in Calvià will face the winner of the clash between the local player Jaume Munar and Aslan Karatsev. On the other hand, the Greek and second favorite will do the same against the Finnish Emil Ruusuvuori or Ilya Ivashka. The Canadian, third seeded, awaits the winner of the match between Frenchman Benjamin Bonzi and a player from the qualifying round. The Spaniard, fourth seeded, will face either Federico Delbonis of Argentina or another player from the qualifiers.

Medvedev and Carreño will play at draw’s top half, coinciding with the Australian Nick Kyrgios, who will debut against the Serbian Laslo Djere; the Spaniard and fifth seed Roberto Bautista, who will face an opponent from the qualifying round in his debut; Feliciano López, who will play against the Dutch Tallon Griekspoor; and the seventh seed Miomir Kecmanovic, who will start his way in the tournament against the Slovakian Alex Molcan.

Tsitsipas and Shapovalov meet in a bottom half of the draw in which the Dutchman and sixth seed Boti von de Zandschulp, who will face the American Marcos Giron, and also the Argentinean and eighth seed Sebastian Baez, who awaits an opponent from the ‘qualy’, are there. Rounding out the lower bracket are the duels between German Daniel Altmaier and Serbian Dusan Lajovic, as well as the clash between American Mackenzie McDonald and Portuguese Joao Sousa.